Explore New Jersey – Scavenger Hunt Style

geocache-logoWhen I was in fourth grade, I learned about New Jersey history. We learned everything from the history of the state flag, to the different industries New Jersey is famous for, to the state’s importance in the Revolutionary War. Keep in mind, however, that this was all taught from books and being a child, I’m sure I didn’t absorb as much as I should have. Plus, I was terrified of my teacher that year.

Nowadays, there’s a great way to get outside with your kids and explore New Jersey first hand. Enter Geocaching.

I was introduced to this scavenger hunt-style game by a colleague and I must admit I am quite hooked! When you are geocaching, you are chasing down items that are hidden all over the world. Bringing it to a local level, by starting down the path of geocaching, you can learn about areas you may have never given a second glance.

There are several different geocaching enthusiast sites where you learn how to join in on the fun. The rules are simple Geocache-Traditional.svgand few and can vary depending on the group you join.

Some of the caches I have found so far have brought me to a historic cemetery, and a nature trail nearby I never knew existed. You truly open your eyes to what is around you.

I encourage you to check out one of the many groups on line and use it as a jumping off point to learn more about the great spaces in New Jersey!

One thought on “Explore New Jersey – Scavenger Hunt Style

  1. […] There’s a pond at the end of the open space that I often fish with my husband. If you like to Geocache, there are several hidden throughout the […]

Leave a Reply

