Proud to be a Pirate

ProudToBeAPirateI went to college at Seton Hall University in South Orange, New Jersey. My freshman year was when the team went to the NCAA Championship. The team didn’t win, but they really gave a great effort.

Now in the interest of full disclosure, I hate basketball. Actually, I hate when schools (high school or college) put a ridiculous amount of emphasis on sports. I firmly believe students should be a school for an education – not to support a sports program. But that’s a post for a different blog.

In all the years since my freshman year at Seton Hall until now, I have watched a total of two games. The Championship in the student center and a game at the Brendan Byrne Arena (yes, I am showing my age). Both times it was with a large group of people and it was fun.

Anyway, what is most important to me is the education I received at Seton Hall.  Founded on on the Catholic faith, the school began its fabled history in 1856. It is named after Elizabeth Ann Seton, the first American-born saint. When I was visiting colleges my senior year in high school I knew it was the right place for me as soon as I walked on the campus. It felt like home. I received my Bachelor of Arts in 1992 and I can honestly say that I use my education every day. I still even have some of my textbooks that continue to provide valuable information. At some point I hope to go to graduate school and I hope that I can go to Seton Hall. Any time I have a friend that is looking at colleges for their child I always recommend my alma mater.

So “March Madness” is in full swing and Seton Hall University won the Big East tournament last night. As far as I understand that means they should be included in the NCAA tournament. Will I watch any of the games? Maybe. It is fun to talk to my pirate buddies from college and see their pride  that our school is getting some national attention. But whether or not I really care about basketball is besides that point. I am PROUD TO BE A PIRATE!

Leave a Reply

