Jersey Road Trip: Frenchtown

If you are a regular reader of my blog, you know there are plenty of places I love in the Garden State. One of my favorite places to visit is Frenchtown.

Outdoors1-sm

On the way to Frenchtown.

Yesterday I headed to Frenchtown for a yarn spinning class at The Spinnery. I’ve been spinning yarns for quite a while (I have a blog about fiber arts as well) and am always excited to learn a new skill. It is a lovely drive down from Morris County. There are horses and cows all along that section of Rt. 78 and once you are off the highway the scenery just gets better and better!

 

The Borough of Frenchtown was settled over 200 years ago. Known in the past as the village of “Sunbeam”, “Sherrod’s Ferry” and other names throughout the Revolutionary War, it finally came to be known locally as “Frenchtown” due to the French-speaking Swiss immigrant who settled here in the late 1700’s.  It is amazing that so much beauty can be held within the one square mile of the Borough.

Frenchtown1-sm

A section of the main street in Frenchtown.

I usually start out my day at The Spinnery attending a class or checking out all the wonderful fiber, spinning tools, and looms. There are plenty of great places to eat. Some of my favorites include the The Wildflower Cafe, The Bridge Cafe, and The National Hotel. There is a multitude of great shops along the main street. Everything from clothing, to a book shop, and plenty of places for something sweet! I always stop in Minette’s Candies and pick up something sweet for the ride home.

 

If you are looking for something to do outside, check out the park alongside Nishisakawick

Frenchtown2-sm

Nishisakawick Creek

 

Creek. You can enjoy lunch in the park or fishing in the creek. There is a wonderful walking and bicycle path along the Delaware River.

There are plenty of great events that take place throughout the year. The most popular by far is the celebration of Bastille Day on July 16th with plenty of great food and music.

I just love this small section of New Jersey. It possible, it would definitely be a place I would like to settle. I hope you have a chance to check out this little place of heaven in New Jersey.

 

2 thoughts on “Jersey Road Trip: Frenchtown

  1. […] great spot in Hunterdon County is Frenchtown. I wrote about a visit to Frenchtown during the summer. Of course my favorite spot is The Spinnery. If you have a yarn lover on your list, this is the […]

  2. […] of New Jersey. Some of them include Morristown, for its connection to our nation’s history; Frenchtown, for its lovely town center full of historic buildings; of course my home town of Belleville; […]

Leave a Reply

