Essex County · Hunterdon County · New Jersey · Outdoors

Were You Rattled Today?

New Jersey experienced something that hasn’t happened in over a century. A strong earthquake. Needless to say, it left many, including me, rattled.

However, if you watched the local news, you would’ve thought it happened in New York. I know, you’re shocked.

For the record, here are the facts:

  • The 4.8 magnitude earthquake happened in Whitehouse Station, New Jersey. Let me repeat that; New Jersey. Not New York City. Not the tri-state area. Not west of New York, nor east of Philly.
  • Three homes appear to have major damage in Newark. They have now been condemned. I am also aware of a water main break one town over from my location.
  • There are multiple fault lines in New Jersey, with the 185 mile Ramapo Fault line being the largest on the eastern seaboard. New Jersey is also home to the Hopewell Fault and the Flemington-Furlong Fault.
  • The Ramapo Fault was formed 400 million years ago and is much older than California’s 28-million-year-old San Andreas.
Earthquake and aftershock map from the USGS
Today’s earthquake in Whitehouse Station (in blue) and the aftershocks so far. (Source: USGS)

So as usual, even though the event took place in New Jersey, it is all about how it affects New York City or Philadelphia. I think they forget the world does not revolve around them. And as New Jerseyans, we really prefer to not to be associated with either of those cities.

Since this morning, there have been over 10 aftershocks with one 4.0 aftershock that definitely got my attention.

I will admit, once I realized what just happened, my brain immediately went back to sixth grade science class with Mr. Delia at School Seven in Belleville. He used a soft-cover book to show us the meaning of plate tectonics by folding and bending it in different ways. That was when I learned phrases like fault line, seismic activity, and continental shift. While I hated science, I liked rocks. That’s probably the only reason I remember the lesson.

So today we definitely experienced an rare and unusual occurrence. Let’s hope it stays a rare and unusual occurrence. And thank you, Mr. Delia.

2 thoughts on “Were You Rattled Today?

  1. Also went to #7. Best school ever! Miss Belleville of old. Lived on Madison Street. Keep this going!

Leave a comment