Arts · Essex County · Just Plain Cool · New Jersey

It’s Time to Know your Roots

The town of Fairfield is home to the largest percentage of Italian Americans in the country, according to the 2020 US Census. So it is appropriate the town will play host to the first annual Paisan Con this weekend.

What is Paisan Con, you ask? Well, let me share.

Paisan Con logo

Paisan Con is an all-encompassing event celebrating Italian American heritage, tradition, and pop culture. Do you want to mee Tommy “Cutlets” DeVito? No problem. Do you want to learn more about different organizations that help to preserve Italian American heritage? There were will plenty of groups there to share their missions with the masses. Are you curious if there are museums devoted to the Italian immigrant culture? You guessed it, they’ll be there.

Oh, and did I happen to mention I’ll be a speaker? Pardon this shameless promotion…

On Saturday, I’ll be sharing what I learned about the Italian immigrant neighborhoods of Newark while researching my upcoming book, The Italians of Newark. On Sunday, I’m hosting a two-part talk about genealogy research and what I learned along the way about my family.

I am really looking forward to this two-day event. I’ve had the opportunity to talk with the organizers multiple times throughout the planning process and I can honestly say they have poured their heart and soul into this event. This weekend is all about celebrating our heritage. I hope you will grab an espresso and join me during this special event!

Leave a comment